Bagan Myothit, or New Bagan, was created in the 1990s to house villagers relo cated by the Tatmadaw (military govern- ment) from Old Bagan. Of the monuments around the village, the largest and most impressive is the Dhammayazika Pagoda. It was built in 1196 by King Narapatisithu (1138–1211), during whose peaceful reign Burmese culture first began to supersede that of the Mon and the ancient Pyu. The gilded stupa rests on three hexagonal terraces studded with five smaller gilded shrines that contain Konbaungera Buddhas. Dhammayazika was one of many prominent sites in Bagan to receive a radical make over by the government in the 1990s.
The Anauk (west) and Ashe (east) Petleik pagodas, in New Bagan’s southern neighborhood of Thiripyitsaya, date from the 11th century. Neither would be of more than passing interest were it not for their superb collection of unglazed terra- cotta Jataka tiles discovered in vaulted corridors sur rounding the stupas during excavation work carried out in 1905. The tiles are now protected by newly built brick walls and roofs.
At Bagan’s southern edge, the Lawkananda Pagoda stands on a bluff above the river. Attributed to Anawrahta (1015– 78), it dates from the 11th cen- tury and enshrines one of the four tooth relics of the Buddha that are said to have magically repli cated themselves from the one set within the Shwezigon Pagoda . The stupa, whose gold leaf and marble- tiled terrace are recent addi- tions, stands on a platform that affords fine views over the river.