This diminutive ordination hall dating from the 13th century forms part of a larger monastic com plex whose wooden por- tions have long since disap- peared. It is noteworthy for the way its exterior mimics the design and decor of the now lost wood structures, and for the frescoes inside. Painted during the Konbaung era, they show scenes from the lives of past Buddhas as well as from the hall’s consecration. The building was erected during the reign of King Kyazuco (r. 1234–50), known as the Philosopher King for his piety and knowledge of the Theravada canon. Kyazuco named the building after a famous monk, Mahasiha Upali, who was originally invited to Bagan by his father.